So, where was I again?

That title is a riff on both the fact that I didn’t post last week and the fact that I actually have some memory holes over the past couple of weeks.

Last Sunday, I took The Kids to a baseball game. It was their last weekend before school started, and we’d managed to waste the summer without getting to a game. We finally coordinated a weekend as the last Sunday. I didn’t get home until late, and had to work Monday, so I didn’t even get to draft anything. We all had a good time, so maybe some time in the future we’ll do it again.

I got my physical copy of the Cypher System, but I haven’t gotten to really read much of it. I did do a page-by-page skim, and read the odd paragraph here and there. The upside is, it looks sufficiently like Numenera in writing that I don’t think I’ll need to do more than a more thorough skim of older rules, which will allow me to read it faster. I’m also not expecting to read all of the setting advice, as I’m creating such a fusion setting that I’m betting the printed advice will be of limited use to me.

In the reading time I’ve gotten (mostly at work), I’ve focused on the PDF version of Fantasy AGE. I like the system (and I’ve enjoyed the Titangrave liveplay series on Geek and Sundry immensely), but I’m not sure it will work for the StarSea. It is less open-ended than Fate, but I also feel that’s a good thing. It looks, though, like I’d have to create a fairly large amount of house rules to get the setting to work like I’d prefer. It’s not off the table yet.

Reading the basic AGE mechanics, as well as an article mixing the Apocalypse/Dungeon World system with Fate, the two mixed in my head, and I thought of another way that might help folk get used to the Fate Invocation/Compel mechanics. The idea is to mix dice colors of your Fate dice. One die is a different color, and that’s your “Stunt” die. If that die comes up “+”, the player can use a stunt or get the effect of a Fate Point. A “–” on the die results in a GM compel. This might be too easy, and success or failure might be used to determine if the Stunt Die is in effect. As players get used to this, the GM might ween the players off this and start using Fate Points instead. All of this is just an idea, and I don’t know if I’ll implement it. If you read this and you’re a Fate GM introducing new players, feel free to give it a try.

Otherwise, I’ve been feeling I need to start creating a setting bible. I’ve been listening to D&D podcasts from back about 2012, just after the 5e playtests started. I’m only now getting to those as I got behind when I lost my iPod, and I had a lot of backlog to dig through. But there was a lot of talk about a Forgotten Realms setting bible, and it’s inspired me to do the same. I have a skeleton of same, and I think I need to start fleshing that out.

Thing is, I think things will start being delayed by my ramping my job hunt up again. Things have been going on at work I’m not happy with, so it’s time to get out, and the DMV job test is about to run out. In three years, I’ve had maybe three interviews that have led nowhere, so I’m thinking that line is exhausted and there’s no point in continuing to bark up that tree. I have no idea where I’ll go, but I can’t stay where I’m at much longer.

In fact, I need to get another application out to the DMV (I’ll keep responding to the interest letters I’m getting), so I think I’ll call this a post.

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on August 17, 2015, in Metagaming, Personal History, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

