Just Thinking

So, life continues as it does. Nothing to really report there.

On to thinkings on the StarSea. I’ve actually had some. 🙂

I’m kinda doing some worldbuilding again in my head. First, I was thinking about the dwarves and gnomes, and how maybe I’ve got them misconceived a little. I’ve wanted to take Earth mythological concepts for creatures in the StarSea and give them a twist. Mythologically, dwarves are miners and masters of the forge. Gnomes, in contrast, are literally earth elementals (as per Paracelsus, an alchemist of ancient Europe). Currently, I have the dwarves as earth and wood elementals, and the gnomes as pixies and tricksters. While the trickster personality can work with anything, I’m thinking the elemental nature should be part of the gnomes more than dwarves. The pixie aspect is not one I was enthusiastic about (except having created a concept image I really liked). If I go ahead and change the gnomes into elementals, that aspect of the dwarves will have to be changed. It a wyrd-technological setting, I think that focusing on the metallurgical aspects might be the way to go. These are largely my initial thoughts on the subject, and I likely need to do some more tinkering before I have these changes settled.

I’ve also been thinking about dragons and their anatomy. I’ve commented on how I want my creatures to have a logical anatomy (no muzzles on humanoids, no odd joints, chair-headed aliens, etc.). I want winged dragons, but I don’t want the wyvern-style creatures for dragons. That is, I want hexapodic dragons, not quadrapeds. The wings of dragons have to fit on their bodies and make sense with the rest of their skeletons and musculature. I just dug out my copy of Michael Whelan’s art book, Wonderworks, to see how he did the dragons of Pern, as there is a couple of different ways to do dragon wings out on the Internet. Some people swear by the wings in front of the forelegs, and some put the wings low on the back, down near where the kidneys would be on a human. A very few folks put the wings aligned with the forelegs, but if they do, they don’t seem to think anything of how the musculature for all four limbs work.

I’ve managed to get about 2/3rds of the way through the Fantasy AGE rulebook, getting into the GMs section, which seems to mostly be advice. I’m skimming that, as no one is ever a good enough GM to not learn more. I’m also starting to dig into the character creation stuff in the Cypher System, which is also largely skim-able. When I had for bed in a few minutes, I’ll see how much farther I can get.

That’s really all I have for now. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on August 24, 2015, in Metagaming, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

