Back so soon?

Yeah, I’m posting again, even though I’ve had little time for anything.


I haven’t had much time to do any research about how Habitica works, but I’m going to watch their tutorial videos tonight before bed, after I finish this post. I need to pitch this to my friends again to see if I can get them on board with trying this. The Habitica site does mention this game being used at schools, so maybe that will help get the kids interested.


Outside of that, I got a couple of world building ideas the other night. One was for how the different orders increase their numbers. This came out of a discussion on how the SCA “knights” go through their knighting process, as well as the items that designate them knights (spurs, belt and chain/necklace). I think the process described was very European, but I think it’s a workable place to start.

The other idea was how the engines of StarSea ships function. My older ideas were for a rudder-like set of “exhaust ports”/thrusters, like this ship had:

(not that you can see them in this image, but this is the best I could find. And both characters get more realistic clothes in later issues.)

but this just wasn’t working for me. This image is how I was viewing travel through the StarSea:

The mistiness around the boat in particular, but also the rocks in the background, are what I like in the image.

One idea I used in my 4e game for a ship that plowed through the Astral Sea (4e’s version of the Astral Plane, depicted above), had a sort of propeller, and I’d seen this image from Monte Cook Games’ new Numenera Kickstarter for an outer space book:

so repeating this sort of propulsion system wasn’t appealing to me, no matter how cool it might look. But I’ve also had the idea of a warp bubble kicking around in my head, with the Star Trek idea that warp drives need to be paired to create a bubble around the ship. These ideas mixed in my head, as I was envisioning a StarSea ship sailing along, creating a bow wave, and I thought, “Why not have the engine set around the hull, creating the misty, wavy look?” I need to sit and do some sketches of how the internals of the ship would be laid out, but I think I have an idea I like and that is different than others I’ve seen.


Well, that’s all I’ve got for this week. Considering it’s only been a couple of days, I think this is more than enough.

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on September 7, 2015, in Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

