Organizing my Organizations

Yes, another two week break in my posts. I’m not passionate about posting, and I’m easily distracted, so I’m not keeping to schedule. That’s the honesty of the situation. I just find other things to distract me from making posts.


So, looking at some of the Age of Sigmar (the new version of Warhammer Fantasy Battles) material inspired me to settle on a thing or two for the StarSea: Beginnings of the command structures of the Orders, and the government of the StarSea.

I’m not 100% certain of how the government of the StarSea will work, but the current thinking is a council of knights representing the “civilized” orders, with envoys from a number of Primal “tribe-nations”. The Council is probably not working very effectively in the setting, as the Arcane and the Divine Orders are in a state of cold war at the least, if not openly at hot war. This situation might be just what I want, as it does create a lot of good intrigue.

Each order has it’s grandmaster, who is the overall leader. He has his Castellan, a second in command, and his Knight-Herald, his emissary to the Council. Beneath them are the Chambermasters, chambers training knights to use their powers for different roles. Beneath the Chambermasters, each world will then have a governor-knight who is the local leader of the Order, and who sends his Knight-Herald to the Order’s homeworld, and potentially to the Council. The Lord-Governor has knights of different chambers beneath him, who contribute knights to form circles, the basic PC grouping. There would also be regional knight-commanders throughout each world with their own garrisons of knights and squires. The PCs, as independent troubleshooters, are outside of the regional command chain, but subservient to those knights in command of various regions. That would prevent PCs from having an excuse to depose any commander they feel they dislike. However, each commander is also required to host the PC circle, as required by the rules of hospitality. Really, those rules will simply make for more intrigue, as they commanders can treat the PCs pretty poorly, or pretty well, to flavor the PCs’ interactions with the world around them.


I picked up Dungeon World to read the sections on fronts and worldbuilding. I’m finding interesting little hints in this book that I’m enjoying. I also downloaded a mindmapping app for my tablet that I want to test out as a way to start mapping both the organization mentioned above, as well as the astrography of the StarSea. I’ll see if it’s worth my time.


Yesterday, I did some room cleaning and sorted through some old material. Some of it was not related to the worldbuilding I’m doing, but other stuff was something I needed to find. I was inspired in regards to vehicles as well as possibilities for some iconic characters, in the form of groups of SciFi and Fantasy characters I had created years ago that I can resurrect for the StarSea project.


 

That’s really all the applicable material that’s come out of the past couple of weeks. It’s about bedtime, so I really need to wrap this up. Later.

 

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on October 27, 2015, in Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

