NaBloPoMo 2015 – Entry 2 – Character Sheets

So, today I worked in an office instead of on the road, so I was able to start creating characters for this weekend’s game. I had some issues with the game, one of those being character sheets.

One of the things that pushed me into getting a Minor in Graphic Design was that I enjoyed creating character sheets. So many produced by publishers suck, to be honest. They miss information that is somewhere in the realm of critical (or at least convenient), they waste space, they misplace information; the list goes on. They’re just rarely well made.

The Fantasy Age character sheet is no exception. I copied four, knowing I wasn’t going to be able to get a lot of info on the pages. But in filling them out, I found there just weren’t spaces for necessary things, like race. Also, there are places with greyscale text that’s far too light to read, and text is meant to be written over said text.

So, for Saturday, I’m going to redesign the sheets and copy some of the text for talents and spells onto the sheets for ease of reference (not that a lot of reference is needed). However, I also have other sheets from Green Ronin‘s fan site that I might try as well. (Takes a minute to look at the sheets…) Nope. Those are better, but still lacking to me. Time for new sheets.

I think I’m also going to create the characters in the Cypher System. If the encounters I run the players through go quickly enough, I might spin trying that game, too. The Cypher generic sheets are pretty decent, from what I can see, but the building-and-filling-out will tell me the truth of it.

Well, that’s all I have for now. More tomorrow. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 3, 2015, in Metagaming, NaBloPoMo, Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

