NaBloPoMo 2015 – Entry 3 – Complete Non-Sequiter

Got up early, then messed around for two hours before getting out the get a tire repaired on my car. Gotta love warranties. Saved me a mountain of money.

Then, my plans fell apart. While waiting for my car, I though of a couple of other things I wanted to do with my day off. I only managed one of them, as the first I did was to go by the Book Nook, a used book store owned by an old friend. I spent most of the afternoon talking with him and another gamer who’d happened to wander in.

While poking around, I found a book called The League of Regrettable Superheroes, a book of oddball superheroes with lame names and/or powers. I remembered a character I’d seen at some point, and I thought that maybe, just maybe, the character would be in the book. And lo and behold, he was.

Dell Comics’s New Dracula. The thing that gets me about this character is that I don’t know how I ever saw this character. I remember seeing him in a grocery store magazine rack when I was maybe 10 or 12, and remember the story. But this comic was published when I was three-years-old. Maybe what I remember seeing was a reprint, or I’m mashing together memories (even the grocery store memory is now 40 years old, minimum). However, I’m glad to have found out a little about this old “regrettable” superhero.

Not much else got done today. I did do some long neglected reading that I’d added to Pocket (an app for iOS that saves the text and some images from web articles), which was good, but little else was accomplished. Sometimes, you just need a day like that.

Anyway, I’m done for today. Later.

Edit: I poked around on the Wiki entry for this character and found a link (here) that states that the comics were reprinted around 1972, which would have made me 9yo, which would make my memory of the grocery store more accurate. Mystery solved.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 4, 2015, in NaBloPoMo, Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

