NaBloPoMo 2015 – Entry 4 – Criticisms of Fantasy Age

I started fine tuning the characters I started Monday. I didn’t comment on this in Entry 2, but there’s a lot of dice rolling in Character Creation for Fantasy Age. And chart referencing; dice are rolled and compared to a chart to get attributes. A completely unnecessary step, in my mind.

As I was fine tuning, I realized that some of the choices I’d wanted to make for the builds I’m working on are impossible, as some talents (essentially feat trees) require focuses (skills) that are impossible to acquire at first level. Healing is not available, except as magic, at first level in Fantasy Age. Looking at this from an in world perspective, that means no one has ever developed any knowledge of healing without being an adventurer. That makes zero sense to me, and calls for some errata.

Also, if your rolls don’t go well, you may be forced to give up on certain concepts. Didn’t roll high enough to get both a good Strength and Fighting so you can wield your great weapon? Sorry, sucks to be you. This is a throwback to the Old School thinking I really don’t care for. I prefer a more deliberate Character Creation system. I want myself, and more importantly my players, do be able to create what makes them happy.

I started on Cypher versions of the characters, going more on concept than direct conversions. I’ve only skimmed the surface of the Warrior, and I’m really happy with the options I’ve got on that character. It feel like it has more interesting options already.

Well, I need to get busy redesigning the character sheet for FA. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 5, 2015, in Metagaming, NaBloPoMo. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

