NaBloPoMo 2015 – Entry 5 – More on Fantasy Age

So, I need to print some full-sized character sheets to fill out. It’s going to take me too long to redesign the FA character sheet. No real sense in doing a redesign unless I’m sure I’m going to use it.

I found something else I really don’t like about the FA book, which has nothing to do with the game, but rather the utility of the book. The introduction to the game is followed, as are most setting-free books, by Character Creation. However, after that, we get Basic Rules, then we jump back to Character Options followed by Equipment and Magic. The Options chapter is the definitions of a lot of what is put forward in the Character Creation chapter. My feeling is that it would be much easier to use as a reference guide if the three chapters related to character were directly after the rest of the character creation material. And my understanding is that this is the way they Dragon Age hardback rules are laid out as well. Really not liking that.

I went on to tinker with the Cypher versions of the characters. I still think the characters are more interesting mechanically in Cypher, but I have to admit that the social standing (done by dice rolls) and background selections have given me some interesting handles on the characters, which I’m using to make selections on the Cypher System characters. I’m not sure it’s worth the trade-off, but my interest in that portion of the game has increased.


It’s latish and I’m tired and will be working tomorrow, so I’m calling it tonight. Later.

 

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 6, 2015, in Metagaming, NaBloPoMo. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

