NaBloPoMo 2015 – Entry 14 – More Killable Than You’d Think

Kinda sucks using the iPad app to post, as you actually have to change your settings to make the app actually post an app when you’ve finished. So, yesterday’s post was completed, but not published. Blech.


Today was Kids D&D, which I know I’ve mentioned is run with 4e. A big complaint of 4e is the lack of lethality. I refute that with today’s game. Bad rolls on the parts of the player’s with even mediocre rolls on the part of the DM can result in the party getting their collective ass handed to them. I had two of the players down for the last half of the battle and the archer had to pretty much end the rest of the enemies. That included TWO NPCs, who were both pretty tough. Our group Thursday also almost got TPK’ed, and we’re newly epic. Yeah, you can kill parties in 4e.


 

One of the other things I want to comment on is the morality of the setting. It’s one of the thematic elements that I’m focused on. One of the influences on the morality of the setting is the Ophidian Virtues from Ultima VII: Serpent Isle. I really don’t have time for it tonight, so I’ll just leave you all that link and discuss them…

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 15, 2015, in D&D 4e, NaBloPoMo, Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

