Rocky Start to 2016

Like so many other folks, I’ve been stumbling through the month of January. Fortunately, I haven’t really had a bad time, things have just been hectic, moreso than normal.

Just before last time, my mother went into the hospital for a problem with her hemoglobin (which is still not diagnosed). The trip for a transfusion turned into a 12-day stay. So, I ended up visiting her a few times, and babysit her a few others, since she got home.

Alongside that, our cat who had cancer in one eye metastasized to her other eye, which came to a head Friday, when she became blind. We’d spent her last couple of months spoiling her, but had to let her go this weekend.

Along the way, I mentioned to an old friend on Facebook that my MacBook was getting old and likely to fail in the near future, so he sold me his old (but newer than mine) MacBook Pro. Since, I’ve been working on getting the Pro working for me. I needed a bigger hard drive, and I’m planning on making the leap to the newest version of the Mac OS. It’s been a struggle getting the upgrades to work right. The installers I downloaded first were corrupt, it wouldn’t install over the old OS, and now I’m waiting for the migration apps to complete moving nearly 800 GB of files. That will be working overnight. Hopefully by the time I leave for work, things will be done.

I also picked up a newer iPad, but I’m not using it yet as, to transfer my files, I need a computer running the new OS with my files on board. So, the new tablet is on hold until I get the laptop upgraded. And because of the file migration, I’m writing this post on my old tablet. I also have acquired a smart phone, which I’m having to figure out how to use. January has become a month of upgrades.

I feel bad about the delays for more reasons than just not being able to use a better tablet. I’ve promised this older tablet to The Boy, and I almost feel like this weekend I’ve teased him a bit. He’s been having to borrow electronics from his dad and younger sister for a while now, as his devices have been rode hard and are in bad shape. Once I can get things completed, I’ll transfer the AppleCare over to him or his dad (whoever can legally own it) and fulfill my promise to him.

I’m still on hiatus from the StarSea, which is both a good thing and a bad thing. I’m very afraid of the StarSea becoming another of my many unfinished projects, one of those symptoms of ADHD. However, one of the things I’m hoping to get out of the Reincarnated worldbuilding I’m doing is to simplify my thinking, rather than continuing the analysis paralysis I’ve been suffering from working on the StarSea.

I decided to read all of Dungeon World to get a complete handle on the game. While the system seems solid, using flattened math, I don’t really care for the terminology. It’s fine to focus on the “fiction,” but the fact that everything is a move seems very mechanistic to me, which seems counter to the stated mission of the rules. Having a “make camp” move and a “level up” move rankles me. But there are a lot of really interesting ideas about DMing in there, even if the DM advice is presented again in a very mechanistic manner.

I’ve been working on a timeline for the Reincarnated campaign, but in an example of the simplification idea, I think I need to go from a number system to a set of event titles, as I’m getting hung up on time scale. I’ve started with a 25,000 year span, going into ancient history, but I don’t think I need the detail such a length of time creates. Something I think I’ll be working on tomorrow in my downtime at work.

On that note, it is time for me to wrap things up for tonight. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on January 25, 2016, in Personal History, Reincarnated. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

