Hospitals and Shower Thoughts

My mother continues to be in the hospital. My sister was saying this morning that of the six weeks of the year 2016, my mother has spent only two weeks at home. Her hemoglobin has been up and down since about Christmas. She’s not in mortal danger, but the hospital is simply not able to figure out the source of one of her less pleasant symptoms. So, they have had her on a liquid diet as they unpleasant symptom would indicate a stomach bleed. Because of the foot issue from one of the last visits, she’s been favoring one leg, which is creating issues walking, so even if they release her soon, she’ll likely need a fair amount of physical therapy to recover proper use of her leg. This is all very stressful, and makes one wonder at the skill of her doctors.

They seem to be questioning that last one themselves, as they want to send her to Stanford for additional testing. However, she’s healthy enough that that would be an outpatient procedure rather than a hospital-to-hospital transfer. That would mean having to take time off work to take her up there. And more stress.

And through all of this, hospitals seem to not understand that the families of the people they serve have bills to pay, and employer goodwill to maintain. While my job is very flexible and I could get the time off easily, my pocketbook would suffer. My sister would have a harder time of it, as she has more difficulty getting time off. This may sound callous, but remember that her condition isn’t life threatening, at least at present. The whole experience is stressful though.


I have been thinking and tinkering with the new Reincarnated setting. I had some shower thoughts that resulted in me reworking and simplifying some of the history of the setting, which I think is a good thing, and probably a first for me. In fact, the writing flowed quite well, even if it was just note-writing. I need to turn some of what I wrote into timelines and other material, but I’m looking at things I like and think I can work with without over-complicating, as is my wont.

Something I think I’d like to do, but I realize creates a much more complex system, is to have multiple magic systems, each with a different feel. I think I discussed this once with the StarSea. Having different rules can create different feels to magic. However, there’s only one game I know of that uses three distinctly different magic systems based off the same base mechanic, and that’s RuneQuest, specifically the third edition, published by Avalon Hill, a wargame company. The three systems include Spirit or Battle Magic, which allows simple, low power effects useful in a fight, but not generally overwhelming, Rune or Divine Magic, which is generally more effective, but more costly, and Sorcery, which is time consuming, but creates large scale effects. All three systems use the BRP percentile system, but all have a very different feel. This is just a thought at this point, as I have no desire to move to RQ. It’s just an idea for differentiating the magic of the evil gods, from that of the good gods and the Fey.

I also started poking around on the Net looking for map ideas. I have some very specific desires for this world (the different environs for the different breeds of humans, arrival points for the Fey, and the focal point of the evil gods’ demesne) that I want to fit in. I’m not looking for a pre-drawn map, but rather for inspiration.

I was talking to a couple of friends, independently each, about game systems. Something I’ve noticed is how enthusiastic I was about Fate (and I still am, and I may use it for the Reincarnated campaign, with the Freeport book, or Mike Shea’s simple Dungeon of Fate rules), but analysis paralysis killed the game for me. On the other hand, I have yet to complete reading of any of the Cypher System games, even though they seem very solid systematically. I just can’t get enthusiastic about the game. Same with 13th Age, although I’ve heard so much good about it. I’ve been reading their SRD, and I’ve just stagnated, and I’m not motivated to continue to read. And as much as I hate the way Dungeon World is written, there’s something about it that is drawing me in. I’m picking up PDF extras and reading those with relish.


I think I’ve done enough for tonight. I need to be up in the morning. Later.

 

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on February 8, 2016, in Metagaming, Personal History, Reincarnated. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

