Off Kilter

That’s the way life has been this week. Off kilter; out of whack.

Mom is back in the hospital, and surprisingly good with it. Probably because she was sleep deprived at the (physical) rehab center. She hated the food, the beds, and the roommate screamed in her sleep loud enough that she woke my nearly deaf mother. This created some drama Monday, as my mother, who has always been a more-or-less stoic doormat through a tantrum with my sister. Tuesday, we initiated discharge for her. Wednesday, the discharge agent at the rehab center called us with an extremely manipulative call trying to get us to keep our mother in rehab.

Thursday, Mom had another tantrum with someone at rehab, which Mom said was the discharge agent, but as we weren’t there and can’t trust Mom’s hearing, we have no idea. However, we also got a call from dialysis that her hemoglobin was critically low again, so off to the hospital again. However, at the suggestion of dialysis, we sent her to he other Community Hospital, where tomorrow she’ll finally have the final test we can get locally to figure out the cause of her hemoglobin issues. Her roommate is another groaner, but apparently nowhere near the volume of the last one. And because of insurance issues, the rehab center can’t hold her room, so we have an out for her going back.

This has been a major issue all week, as you can see. Hopefully, the test tomorrow will reveal something that can be fixed and we can get Mom home for a while. And we can get some peace for a while.


I’ve been reading a fan piece I found on the Dungeon World home page regarding how the game should played. It has gone a ways to confirm that one game I played was handled poorly by the DM. It might have been the large group, but his house rule certainly contributed. If not for the Tome Show podcasts referencing the Fronts system, I would have never looked farther into the game, one I’m now finding I like, and I’m willing to try out with my groups.


Otherwise, I haven’t done much work on anything. Again, I’m hoping the family life will stabilize and allow me to get my focus back.

I’m tired and am working in the morning, so I’ll shut it down for tonight. Later.

 

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on February 22, 2016, in Metagaming, Personal History, Reincarnated. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

