It’s Been A While…

Last I posted, I thought I’d have time to do some stuff while caring for my mother. Yeah, right. Taking care of an elderly person, especially when they have intestinal bugs is a full time job. Made even worse when they can’t get around well. There’s lots of clean up. And fetching and carrying. So, it becomes impossible to focus on anything for long.

Worse, after seeing all the cool stuff the other artist in my Thursday night game was finding on Pinterest, I signed up too, and spent a couple of nights running down those rabbit holes, AKA wasting time.

I’ve barely given two thoughts to the StarSea in the past few weeks, outside of finding images on Pinterest that are appropriate. I think that setting is going to be on vacation considerably longer than I had thought. I need something to prime that pump again before I’ll get back to it.

I haven’t really done much more mechanically with the Reincarnated setting, either. I’ve looked at a couple of small press games, but haven’t settled on anything yet. What I have settled on the idea that I want some level of tactical combat. The idea has crept into my head involves all the foes the PCs face being represented on the battlefield by miniatures from Games Workshop. This idea got started since part of my inspiration is Age of Sigmar. The idea of wererats as enemies, and thus the mythology of their status as a curse of the moon goddess, was inspired by having a collection of Skaven. So, I’ve been poking around for systems that include a tactical option that aren’t D&D, past or present. I mentioned Bare Bones Fantasy last post, and it allows for “multiclassing,” so it’s high on my list for now. The tactical rules for Fate in War of Ashes: Fate of Agaptus would be useful, but I don’t know how well the kids would handle the Fate System.

Otherwise, I’ve managed to find some other GW figures on sale at the local Hobby Town, and I’ve started building them and others in my collection. I’ve gotten a few evenings to build figures, and I’m hoping to keep it up. I’d forgotten how much I enjoy building minis.

That’s really all I’ve accumulated over the past few weeks. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get back to posting more regularly again.

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on March 21, 2016, in Personal History, Reincarnated. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

