So over Apple

Today has been a pretty shitty day, and it has erased all memory of anything I might have posted about today. My new laptop, that I’ve only had up and running for exactly two months, has developed a psychotic system problem that makes no sense, and I’m going to have to try to do a clean install, again.

My old laptop, which I’m using to write this, was frozen on January 26th. I took my new laptop to our D&D game last night, and it was working fine when I left. I got home and went to bed. When I started it up this morning, the Finder (Apple’s file system app) was failing to find any of my apps. Files are fine, but apps are all broken or missing. Trying to use the Finder to copy off my files failed, as it kept trying initiate an app that has nothing to do with copying files. So I had to set up an external drive to copy my files onto another external hard drive, so I can later create yet another drive to clean install the OS and restore from this computer, again.

Two months after upgrading from OS 10.6.8 to 10.11.2, and FIVE DAYS after upgrading to 10.11.4, and the system has crashed completely.

It used to be that Apple products “just worked.” In the past two months, I’ve had so many problems that I’m considering never buying another Apple product. Their products are becoming so convoluted that they’re impossible to use.

But right now, I can’t afford to go out and replace everything again after two months time. And I shouldn’t have to. But right now, Tim Cook and crew could go piss up a rope, as far as I’m concerned.

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on March 28, 2016, in Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

