Yet Another “Nothing to Report” Post

Nothing’s really happened in the past couple of weeks. I’ve really been distracting myself with Pinterest and Facebook, along with some games. I had nothing to report last week, either. I’m making slow progress through 13th Age, although I’m not even trying to read it cover-to-cover. I think that may have contributed to my failures to complete Numenera and the Cypher System core rulebook. Most rulebooks are a bit of a slog for me anymore. It may be related to my ADHD, but it was never a problem in the past. Or maybe it’s just age, and I don’t mean I think I’m becoming addle-paited. Rather, I just don’t have the time or energy to devote the time to such dense books. I managed to read Dungeon World, even though I hated the writing, because the style was light and didn’t feel particularly dense. Same with Fantasy Age, which I also read cover-to-cover.

However, I also feel like I could be mildly depressed. I’ve been more temperamental than usual lately. Last week, we got a puppy, after having put one of our older dogs down at the end of Hellish Week. Some days, it’s fine. Today has been very trying. Puppies are worse than human infants or toddlers, as they at least have some ability to understand languages and finer emotions. Puppies? Not so much.

But there’s more than that. My mother’s failing health and manners, my sister’s stress that she radiates like a sun, the yard, the continuing weird impulses of fear and hesitation from the fire. I’m tired, a lot, regularly. It’s all getting to me.

So, while my Thursday night game is starting to discuss future games, and I’m suggesting running something, I’m not sure I’m really up for it right now. And I should probably let the group know that. However, once I’m there most weeks, I’m not feeling so bad. Well, mostly. We have one problem player who I’ve already sworn I’ll probably ask to not attend. His attitude has been horrible lately, and I don’t really think I want to deal with it if I run for this group.

Anyway, I’m tired and really don’t have a lot I want to discuss at this point. Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on April 25, 2016, in Metagaming, Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

