Lessons In Staying Off The Internet

So, over the last couple of weeks, I’ve managed to find a way to keep from being distracted by the Internet. That’s basically by not using it and doing other things. Amazing, no? Now that I’ve gotten past the sarcastic remarks, I can get into a little bit of depth. I’m going to try to keep things short, as usual. we’ll see how that works out this time.

I started rewriting Adventurers!, adding in a few minor details from Dungeon World. With the way Adventurers! works, the partial success of DW won’t work in combat. It could make a nice addition to other skill use, but has no real function in combat, as A! uses the difference in attack and defense rolls to determine damage. Otherwise, I realized that most of the stuff I’d want to add from DW was non-combat associated (except the use of six stats instead of three). Makes the rewrite a bit simpler.

To accomplish all of this, I’m using 3″x5″ cards. I started with writing a card comparing the rules systems for each different segment of the game. One card for each attribute’s associated skills as well. At this point, I’ve focused purely on game systems that affect characters, mainly creation and combat, as well as advancement. Once I had the two different systems outlined, I started in on writing notes on the fusion between the systems. By that point, I’d already determined that DW wouldn’t have as much impact as I’d originally thought.


Additionally, I picked up and started reading Microscope. I was going to use it with the group to create the history of the subregions of the local area, but I don’t think the kids would click with it. The Boy likes to be silly, and I think the Girl would be bored with the game. I’d love to run it with a full set of adults.


That’s really all I feel the need to comment on tonight. I think I’ve managed to keep this short and simple.

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on July 4, 2016, in Metagaming. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

