NaBloPoMo 2016-06

No gaming today, except maybe tangentially. Since yesterday’s post, I dug up some old indie RPGs I wanted to gather in one place (and prepared to re-read a couple), slept, got up and spent some time with my brother, went to see Doctor Strange, had an early Thanksgiving dinner as the aforementioned brother is visiting to see our recently released-from-the-hospital mother, and now I’m doing laundry while watching America’s Funniest Home Videos.

While she was apparently good enough to be discharged, Mom looked unhealthy today. It may simply be because she doesn’t sleep well in the hospital, the legendary midnight awakenings and special bedding to help her sore bottom heal making sleep difficult for her. Hopefully she’ll be better in the morning. I think I’ve mentioned before that we know she likely doesn’t have more than a couple of years left, but how little is the question.


Doctor Strange was very entertaining, and pretty much the perfect homage to the original comics. It had the typical Marvel mix of drama and comedy, and was probably the most philosophical Marvel Cinematic Universe movie yet. As one of my friends who I went to the movie said, “I was afraid I’d want to play Mage [the Ascension] again after seeing this.” I’m sure he does, and I could see myself running something like this movie.


A few weeks (or months) ago, I read an article discussing how we don’t perceive every thing happening around us. Their idea was that we would be overwhelmed by all of the little things happening with every step or breath we take. Strange reminded me of the article, along with an odd sensation I’d had a couple of weeks ago. I was driving home one night, and had a moment of clarity in which I realized just what I was doing, driving a car. I became aware of my separateness from the car, the engine feeding power to the wheels, and that fragile me was controlling it all. It was empowering and terrifying all at the same time.


That’s all I can think of for today. I’m hoping tomorrow is an inspiring day, but we’ll have to see how tonight goes with Mom, and tomorrow I work (again, assuming Mom makes it through the night without issue.

Later.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on November 7, 2016, in Movies and Television, NaBloPoMo, Personal History. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

