More on system choices…

Last week, I didn’t get a lot of hours at my job, and most of those I did get were local, which means I didn’t get a lot of downtime to use for other projects. About the only thing I’ve done with my daylight hours lately is look for a job with more consistent hours. That, and working my check book and projecting what I’ll be able to afford in the near future. I’m hoping for a tablet by the end of the year.

I have done some thinking on the nature of the Ür and how much manipulation of the life of the StarSea they might have done. I’m not really ready to discuss much of that right now, as it’s still pretty nebulous.

However, on the rules level, I’ve picked up a couple of new rules sets that I’m looking into. A few weeks ago, I picked up FATE Accelerated, and that inspired me to pick up FATE Core. (Read more here.) I like the system, and I think I could make the StarSea in it pretty easily. I like that I could create the orders as if they were PCs and have them grow and change as players do things in the world. That’s a concept I might adapt to other systems, once I make my choice. However, I’m not sure the kids would like the system. (In fact, the Boy made a remark that he’s going to play 4e even when he’s an adult. Amazing the influence adults have…) But my attempts to run something, even a session or two to find out, have failed. I can’t seem to get the kids to give up their electronics long enough.

I also got my copy of the Numenera PDFs. I could also see this game as a set of rules I could use for StarSea. The roders would likely have to change some, as would the function of the numenera themselves. I haven’t really read much of it so far, as all I have is the PDFs, and no method to read them at my leisure (like from a tablet during work downtime). So, now I’m waiting for my hardback, so I can sit and read it before bed.

I need to get around to finishing reading Savage Worlds, although I’ve got the system stuff down. I did pick up the Fantasy Companion, but there really isn’t enough system material there to be necessary to read thoroughly.

I’d also like to pick up the races book for Bare Bones Fantasy, but that’s going to wait for a while until I can get ahead on the bills.

That’s pretty much all I’ve got for this week. In fact, I’ve written more than I expected. See you next week.

About docryder

I'm an experienced table top gamer with an open mind to new game systems. I'm looking to explore ideas I've got. Some are pretty meta, some are pretty mundane. Welcome to my world.

Posted on August 13, 2013, in Star Wars Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I got my Kickstarter copy of 13th Age this week, and it’s been a great read, so far.

    Jonathan Tweet and Rob Heinsoo (a.k.a. the guys who brought you 3e and 4e) took a look at the two games they’d been the leads on and threw out all the stuff that they felt didn’t work, then took the remainder and mashed it all together.

    The end result feels to me like BECM D&D with 4e mechanics and narrative gaming sensibilities. And that’s a beautiful thing.

    Keep digging into FATE, though – it’s a hell of a system. I highly recommend Legends of Anglerre if you are thinking of running a fantasy game.

    • I’ve looked a little at 13th Age. I’m not sure how I’d work the power source-Orders into the system. Probably have to make my own Icons…

      I’ve also looked at a similar game called Radiance, which looks like it combines 3.5 and 4e as an OGL release.

      FATE seems pretty amazing, but I have a feeling the kids in our game aren’t mature enough for that system. It takes a certain level of maturity to create good Aspects.

      So far, my setting is somewhat system neutral, so I have plenty of room to work.

  2. And if you just want something to read for some amazing inspirations and clever design, pick up Dungeon World. it left me gob-smacked the first time I thumbed through it.

    • I looked at Dungeon World a little, and it made me stumble when I realized it was BXCM D&D with the Apocalypse World resolution system, which isn’t a Bad Thing, just not what I’m looking for.

Leave a comment